Into the Deep

, , ,

So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus (Matthew 1:29 NKJV).

Be careful what you pray for.

That is the first thing that came to mind when God answered my prayer. The things we pray for are often birthed through discomfort. Rarely are they instantaneous or easy. Still, God’s way is always the best way.

I am on the verge of retirement. Again.

My first retirement was deliberate, but I didn’t stay retired for long. One day a week quickly turned into full time hours. I love my “pharmacy phamily” and have gained meaningful friendships in over three decades of practice.

Seven years later, it’s different. I have practiced pharmacy far longer than I ever intended. The profession has blessed me and, hopefully, I have blessed it. My season of professional practice appears to be ending. However, pharmacy was never my first love. Writing is my passion.

There are rare windows of opportunity that come in our lives. Sometimes, the opportunities and the timing don’t make sense. But that doesn’t minimize the opportunity. We can seize the day and move toward the challenge, or we can do the sensible thing and talk ourselves out of it. However, at this stage in my life I’m less inclined to be sensible. Those who know me best would easily describe me as a planner, responsible, and risk averse. However, I’ve reached the point where I am ready to walk on water.

I have always allowed faith to guide me. Yet now I have faith in new things. Without a backup plan, I’m finally ready to launch into the deep. I’m willing to let go of something that has served me well and instead serve our Father, clueless as to how this is going to go.

Peter wavered in the water when he took his eyes off Jesus. He became too distracted by the wind and waves around him. I pray to stay focused in 2024 and pursue my passion. I don’t want the fear of the storm around me to cause me to falter. I’m ready to do it—whatever it is—afraid. I don’t want to regret staying in the shallow end years from now.

I asked God for more in 2024. But to receive it, some things must go. Predictability. Comfort. Familiarity. Not only do I want to pursue a new profession, I want to pursue more of God. I want to enjoy the freedom of following His lead. I can’t do much more. The dreams God planted within me years ago are improbable at best. But is there anything too hard for the Lord?

Is God prodding you to do more? Expect more?

Move away from superficial thinking. Peter was able to walk on water because he was moving toward Jesus. When God calls us forward, He will keep us afloat.

I’m desperate to answer His call. Are you?

Leave a comment

In my viewfinder

God communed with Adam and Eve in a garden. We can find revelation and wisdom there as well when we take time to appreciate the miracles all around us. Let’s grow together.